8 teams for 1st Kwara Female Volleyball tourney


Eight teams from five states will be participating in the First Female Volleyball Super Cup Championship in Ilorin, the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports.
The organiser of the championship said on Tuesday that team were being expected from Lagos, Niger, Kaduna, Kogi and the host state, Kwara.
The tournament, according to the organiser, will hold between Jan. 28 and Jan. 30 at Oloru in Moro Local Government area of the state.
The sponsor of the championship, Rotimi Sulyman, told newsmen that the competition was aimed at increasing awareness for the game and providing the template for youth to showcase and nurture their talents to stardom.
”The championship is an attempt to develop the game of volleyball at the grassroots.
”It is also part of my desires to give back to the society,” he said.
Sulyman commended Gov. AbdulRahaman AbdulRasaq for creating an enabling environment for sports to thrive in the state.
”The governor’s laudable achievements in sports promotion and his radical sports infrastructural development are unprecedented,” he said.
NAN reports that the winner of the competition will go home with N100,000, while first runners up will get N60,000.
The second and third runners up are expected to get N40,000 and N20,000 respectively, while the participating teams will be given N10,000 each as consolation prize. (NAN)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.