Anambra assembly renews tenure of transition committee chairmen of 21 local government councils



Anambra State House of Assembly has renewed the tenure of the Transition Committee Chairmen of the twenty one Local Government Areas in the State for another three months.
The House renewed their tenure in line with section two hundred and eight of the local government law as amended during their emergency sitting in Awka.
The House extended the tenure of the local government Chairmen at Committee of the whole.
The Speaker of the House, Right Honourable Uche Okafor read out their confirmation, while members of the House supported it through a voice vote.
In his remark, the Speaker charged the local government chairmen to continue to execute life touching projects in their various local government areas and assist the state government in the fight against COVID-19 pandemic by sensitizing their people on the dangers of the deadly disease and the preventive measures.
The Speaker also announced that the House has proceeded on a three week break to enable the Ministry of Health do contact tracing of those found to be negative of COVID -19 and to pave way for the fumigation of the House of Assembly complex.
In a vote of thanks, the Transition Committee Chairman for Idemili North Local Government Area, Mr. Raphael Nnabuife commended the House for extending their tenure, assuring that they will continue to work with the Executive and Legislative Arm of Government in piloting the affairs of their local government areas.
In separate speeches, the Transition Committee Chairman for Ogbaru Local Government Area, Hon. Arinzechukwu Awogu assured that they will redouble their efforts in the fight against COVID-19 pandemic to forestall its spread.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.