APC NWC clears eight aspirants to contest Kwara governorship primaries


The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has cleared eight aspirants to contest the Kwara governorship primaries.
Mr Yekini Nabena, the APC acting National Publicity Secretary disclosed this in a statement on Saturday in Abuja, adding that the clearance was based on the recommendation of the party’s governorship screening panel.
Nabena listed those cleared as follows:

  1.    Yakubu Gobir
  2.    Hakeem Lawal
  3.    Ishaq Modibbo Kawu
  4.    Lukman Mustapha
  5.    Prof. Oba Abdul Raheem
  6.    Alhaji Tajudeen
  7.    Abdullahi Shuaibu Yaman
  8.    Abdulraheem Abdul Razak

According to Nabena, two aspirants, Abdulfatai Yahaya and Mohammed Dele Belgore voluntarily withdrew from the governorship race.
The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that no fewer than 7,000 delegates from across the federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) have already converged on the Abuja Eagle Square for the party’s national presidential convention on Saturday.
The delegates which include three from each Local Government Area in the country, aside the statuary delegates, are to ratify the candidacy of President Muhammadu Buhari as the APC presidential candidate for the 2019 election.
The votes scored by President Buhari at the recent APC presidential primary held across the states of the federation would be made public at the convention.(NAN)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.