... Always Staying on Top of The News

CJN swears in 22 Appeal Court Justices, Fadawu, Wike’s wife others make list

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Chief Justice Of Nigeria, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola

By Ibraheem Hamza Muhammad, Abuja

The Chief Justice Of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, has sworn-in 22 elevated Justices as new Judges of the Court of Appeal.

He said at the inauguration of 22 justices for the Court of Appeal on Wednesday at the Main Courtroom of the Supreme Court of Nigeria in Abuja.

The CJN disclosed that the National Judicial Council (NJC) has already activated the process of making errant judges who deliver misleading and conflicting judgements be made to face the consequence of their “despicable and odious conduct”.

He described their conduct as an embarrassment to the judiciary and would not be handled lightly.

CJN Ariwoola said, ” I urge you to be upright, not to falter and toe the path of infamy but must adjudicate according to the constitution.”

The Appeal Court Justices are: Fadawa Umaru from Borno State; wife of the FCT Minister, Eberechi Wike; Justice Donatus Okorowo of the Federal High Court, Abuja, Justice Abdullahi Muhammad Liman from Nasarawa State; Abiodun Azeem Akinyemi from Ogun State and Olukayode Adegbola Adeniyi from Oyo State.

Among them are: Zainab Bage Abubakar from Kebbi State; Isaq Mohammed Sani from Kaduna State; Lateef Babajide Lawal-Akapo from Lagos State; and Ngozika Okaisabor from Imo State respectively.

Others are Ruqayat Oremei Ayoola from Kogi State; Polycarp Terna Kwahar from Benue State; Oyewumi Oyejoju Oyebiola from Oyo State; Ntong Festus Ntong from Akwa Ibom State; Nehizena Idemudia Afolabi from Edo State; and Nnamdi Okwy Dimgba from Abia State.

While Abdu Dogo from Federal Capital Territory, Abuja; Abdulazeez M. Anka from Zamfara State; Owibunkeonye Onwosi from Ebonyi State; Asma’u Akanbi-Yusuf from Kwara State; Victoria Toochukwu Nwoye from Anambra State; and Enenche Eleojo from Kogi State.

The new Appeal Court justices were sworn in alongside 11 new judges for the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.