... Always Staying on Top of The News

FG invites Soyinka, Onanuga, Igiebor, Falana, Zwingina to June 12 honours day

The Federal Government has invited prominent Nigerian journalists, human rights activists and politicians to the ceremony in Abuja on Tuesday 12 June, to confer national honours on late billionaire Moshood Abiola; his running mate Ambassador Baba Gana Kingibe and late prominent lawyer, Gani Fawehinmi.
The journalists and activists invited all played salutary roles in the fight to validate the June 12, 1993 election, annulled by the Babangida junta.
Those invited include Nobel laureate, Professor Wole Soyinka, Mr. Femi Falana, SAN, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Chief Bisi Akande, Ms. Ayo Obe.
Others are Bayo Onanuga, Kunle Ajibade, who represent TheNews and TEMPO, Nosa Igiebor of Tell Magazine.
Mr Kayode Komolafe and Senator Janathan Zwingina who worked on the Abiola campaign were also invited, along with Comrade Frank Ovie Kokori, who was the leader of the oil workers union, NUPENG.
Prof. Humphrey Nwosu, the chairman of the National Electoral Commission, stopped by the junta from announcing all the collated results, is also on government’s guest list.
President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday corrected the injustice of the annulment by announcing the highest honour of GCFR for Abiola, who won the election.
He also said that with effect from 2019, June 12 will become Nigeria’s Democracy Day, as against May 29, which marked the transfer of power from the military to the civilians.(NAN)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.