NBBF says National Division 1 to start Nov. 27


The Nigeria Basketball Federation (NBBF) says the Total National Division 1 Basketball League will begin on Nov. 27 with matches in two centres.
Afolabi Oni, the NBBF Media Officer, on Friday in a statement, quoted NBBF Secretary-General, Chimezie Asiegbu, as saying the competition would hold in Abeokuta and Makurdi.
“Twenty clubs in the Atlantic Conference will play at the Alake Sports Centre in Ijeja, Abeokuta to battle for two places in the Total Plc-sponsored National Final 4.
“Eleven clubs in the Savannah Conference will also gather at the Aper Aku Stadium in Makurdi between Nov. 27 and Dec. 4 to battle for two available National Final 4 slots,’’ he said.
Oni added that registration for the competition by the expected clubs would end on Nov. 21.
The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that clubs in the Atlantic Conference include Base Hawks, O.S Lions (Osun), Raptors (Lagos), T. Joba (Akwa Ibom) and Comets (Lagos).
Others are Police Bombers (Lagos), Impression Academy (Delta), Akure Raiders (Ondo) and Invaders from Ado Ekiti.
The Savannah Conference has Apa Flames (Benue), Dashon Mambas, Benue Braves, Kano Pyramids, Yobe Desert Warriors, Zamfara Shooters, AHIP Giants, All Stars of Abuja, Nigerian Army, Jewel Bulls and Kada Stars.
The finals will hold between Dec. 17 and Dec. 22 at the Indoor Sports Hall of the National Stadium in Lagos.
The top two teams would gain promotion to the National Premier League for the 2019 season. (NAN)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.