Plateau Govt constitutes 8-man committee to resettle IDPs

Governor Lalong

The Plateau Government has constituted an 8-man committee to return Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) from the recent herders/farmers clashes to their original homes.
The Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Mr Rufus Bature, made this known in a statement on Wednesday in Jos.
He said the committee’s terms of reference included identifying the areas affected   by the crises, identifying those displaced and areas they were displaced from and ascertaining the number of people affected and displaced.
According to him, the committee is also to identify those who have annexed and destroyed villages, work out modalities for effective return of the affected persons to their original homes.
They are also to make any other recommendations that would facilitate the return of the IDPs to their original places.
He listed areas with cases of annexation to include Jos North, Jos South, Barkin  Ladi, Riyom, Mangu, Bokkos  and Bassa local governments, saying  that  the government observed with dismay the indiscriminate annexation land crises in the affected areas.
The SSG said that the incidence of annexation were either as a result of fear of being attacked or being chased away by adversaries.
He announced the appointment of Retired AVM Bala Danbaba as the Chairman of the Committee.
Other members are Retired Commissioner of Police Patrick Garba, Alhaji Sale Bayari, Da Christopher Mancha, Gwom Rwei Zawan, Acting Executive Secretary of State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA),  Rev. Yakubu Pam and Ibrahim Izang.
The committee is expected to submit its report in four weeks. (NAN)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.