... Always Staying on Top of The News

PDP wins 4 state assembly constituencies re-run elections in Bauchi 

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Akanji Alowolodu, Bauchi 1

The independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the four candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winners of the Bauchi State House of Assembly re-run elections. 

The rerun elections were held in 42 polling units across three local government areas of Bauchi, Katagum and Ningi for the state assembly constituencies.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) announced the results of the polls on Sunday at the INEC Collation Centres of the three local government areas headquarters. 

The Returning Officer for Madara/Chinade Constituency, Prof. Ahmed Abdulkadir of Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU) Bauchi, declared Dr Ala Ahmed of  PDP the winner with a total vote of 13,920 to defeat his closet rival, Dantali Ali of APC who polled 9,710 votes. 

In Bauchi Central, the Returning Officer, Prof. Ismail Shehu of ATBU declared, Jamilu Dahiru as the winner with a total votes of  1, 857 while his closet opponent of APC, Aliyu Abdullahi polled a total of 858 votes. 

INEC  officially declared the immediate former Speaker, Abubakar  Suleiman as the winner of the Ningi State Central Constituency.

The Returning Officer for the constituency, Prof. Ahmed Abdulhamid of ATBU said  that Suleiman of PDP scored 11785 votes to defeat his opponent from APC Khalid Ningi who polled a total of 10,339 votes.

Returning Officer for Zungur/Galambi State Constituency, Prof Adamu Samaila of ATBU declared Yusuf Ahmed of Peoples Democratic Party as the winner with a total of 2,233 votes to defeat his closet opponent, Ibrahim Yuguda of APC who polled a total of 1, 928 votes. 

The votes polled  by each of the candidates at the rerun election was added to the votes scored by the candidates during the March 18, 2023 general elections.

Recall that the Court of Appeal had declared the March 18, 2023 state assembly election inconclusive, and ordered a rerun election in the 42 polling units across the three LGs with four state assembly constituencies 

  1. ↩︎

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.