Al-Makura reconstitutes governing councils of state-owned tertiary institutions


Governor Almakura
Gov. Umaru Al-Makura of Nasarawa State, has approved the appointments of Chairmen and members of the governing councils of the four state-owned tertiary institutions.
This is contained in a statement signed by Mohammed Abdullahi, Secretary to the Nasarawa State Government (SSG), on Friday in Lafia.
According to the statement, the reconstitution of the council was in the exercise of  governor’s powers as the visitor to the institutions and in line with the  relevant enabling laws establishing them.
According to the statement, Prof. Adamu Baike was appointed Chairman of the governing council of Nasarawa State University, Keffi, while Mahmud Zubairu was appointed chairman of  College of Education, Akwanga.
Dr Dominic Bako is to chair the governing council of the College of Agriculture, Lafia, while Muhammadu Bako, the Emir of Karshi, was also appointed chairman of the Nasarawa State Polytechnic, Lafia.
“Other members of the councils include, Vice Chancellor, Provosts and Registrars of the four institutions.
“Others are, representatives of Ministries of Education, Finance, Commerce, Works, Justice, supervising bodies, among others, ” it added.
The statement revealed that the governing councils would be inaugurated at a date to be announced later. (NAN)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.