... Always Staying on Top of The News

LAUTECH sanctions 12 students over invasion of institution

Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu

r invasion of institution

By Akeem Abas
Ibadan, July 25, 2018(NAN) The management of Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH), Ogbomoso has sanctioned 12 students for spearheading the invasion of the institution.
The Registrar, Mr Jacob Agboola made this known in a statement to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Wednesday in Ibadan.
Agboola said that four of the students were expelled, while eight were suspended for varying number of semesters.
He said that the students had spearheaded the invasion of the main campus of the institution after the Students’ Union election held on June 13.
“The affected students along with some thugs they hired had allegedly used weapons such as guns, matches and charms during the invasion.
“They were said to have allegedly attacked workers of the university, including the acting Dean of Students’ Affairs, Dr. Sunday Adewale and the Chairman of Security Committee, Prof. Olatunde Oni,’’ he said.
Agboola said that the Senate of the institution had at an emergency meeting of Tuesday, July 24, considered the report and recommendations of the panel set up to investigate the crisis.
“The senate, which is the highest academic body, had after a painstaking deliberations on the matter, approved the following sanctions for the affected students,’’ he said.
They are Olatunbosun Adeoti of Civil Engineering department, Oluwatimileyin Akinloye of Pure and Applied Physics department, Ndubisi Eze of Management and Accounting department, and Sodiq Dauda of Chemical Engineering department were expelled.
Israel Oluwole of Pure and Applied Chemistry department, Oluwaseyi Bankole of Pure and Applied Physics department, Joseph Abioye of Anatomy department and Sulaiman Adewale of Anatomy department were suspended for six semesters.
Akeem Amoo of Transport Management department and Remi Atoyebi of Pure and Applied Mathematics department were suspended for four semesters.
Those suspended indefinitely were Ismail Olalekan of Computer Science and Engineering department as well as Usman Azeez of Biochemistry department. (NAN)
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.