... Always Staying on Top of The News

Transition Committees: Adamawa Assembly set to amend LG law

The Adamawa House of Assembly has commenced the amendment of the State Local Government Law Number 4 of 2000, to enable Gov. Ahmadu Fintiri appoint transition committees for the 21 LGAs in the state.
The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the tenure of elected local government chairmen and councillors in the state lapsed in August last year.
Moving for the amendment of the law at the Monday plenary of the house, the Majority Leader, Alhaji Hammantukur Yettisuri (PDP-Jada/Mbulo) said members of the transition committees would run the councils pending the conduct of local government election by the State Independent Electoral Commission (ADSIEC).
Yettisuri said the transition committee for each of the 21 councils would be made up of a Chairman, Vice Chairman, Secretary, four Supervisory Councillors and a representative of each Ward including at least one woman.
The amended bill passed first and second reading at the plenary presided over by the Speaker, Alhaji Aminu Iya-Abbas, who directed that the bill be scheduled for third reading at the next convenient legislative day.
Meanwhile, the governor had said he would soon announce transition committees for the local government councils in the state.
Fintiri made this known on Monday while receiving officials of Ministry for Local Government Affairs led by its Permanent Secretary, Mr Kennedy Dauda.
The officials went to brief the governor on activities of the local councils in the state. (NAN)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.