... Always Staying on Top of The News

26 lawmakers of Rivers Assembly couldn’t veto Governor Fubara – SAN

Governor Simi Fubara of Rivers State

By Ibraheem Hamza Muhammad

Aliyu Lemu, Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN), Lawyer for Association of Legislative Drafting and Advocacy Practitioners (ALDRAP), asks Court to determine whether the 1999 Nigerian Constitution permits the 26 Rivers State legislators to veto Governor Fubara.

The Senior Advocate of Nigeria is due to appear as the lawyer for the plaintiff, (ALDRAP).

In the suit with number FHC/ABJ/CS/13/2024, the plaintiff’s lawyer argues that the 26 legislators of the Rivers State House of Assembly did not meet the quorum of two-thirds considering that they had previously defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Therefore, the said 26 members did not constitute the quorum as required by the 1999 Nigerian Constitution to veto Governor Fubara’s refusal to assent to the four Bills.

The lawsuit which comes up on 13th March 2024 at the Federal High Court, Abuja is before Hon. Justice Omotosho.

Amongst other Reliefs being sought, Aliyu Lemu, SAN would be asking the Federal High Court, Abuja to determine whether the 1999 Nigerian Constitution still recognises the said 26 legislators who defected from the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) to APC as valid members of the Rivers State House of Assembly.

Below is a list of the 26 members of the 10th Rivers State House of Assembly (that defected from PDP to APC) and their constituencies.

  1. Abua/Odual – John Dominic Iderima
  2. Ahoada East 1 – Mrs Queen Williams
  3. Ahoada West – Sokari Goodboy Sokari
  4. Akuku-Toru 1 – Asuah Mensah Jack
  5. Akuku-Toru 2 – Lolo Isaiah Opuende
  6. Andoni – Ofiks Kabangs Christopher
  7. Asari-Toru 1 – Granville Tekenari Wellington
  8. Asari-Toru 2 –Enemi Alabo George
  9. Eleme – Igwe Aforji
  10. Emohua – Chief/Mrs Justina Emeji
  11. Etche 1 – Ignatius Onwuka
  12. Etche 2 – Chimezie Nwankwo
  13. Gokana – Dumle Maol
  14. Ikwerre 1 – Lemchi Prince Nyeche
  15. Khana 1 – Mrs Barile Nwakoh
  16. Obio/Akpor 1 – Martin Amaewhule
  17. Obio/Akpor 2 – Mrs Emilia Lucky Amadi
  18. Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni 1 – Uchenna Frankline Nwabochi
  19. Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni 2 – Mrs Nkemuika I. Nkemjika Ezekwe
  20. Ogu/Bolo – Davids Anold Okobiriari
  21. Omuma – Nwankwo Sylvanus
  22. Oyigbo – Gerald Oforji
  23. Port Harcourt 1 – Wami Solomon Chile
  24. Port Harcourt 2 – Tonye Adoki
  25. Port Harcourt 3 –Azeru Opara
  26. Tai – Ngbar Bernard Baridamue

This shows that the political crises between former Governor and now Minister of the FCT, Nyesom Wike and the hi is successor and incumbent Governor Siminalayi Fubara is not yet over.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.