... Always Staying on Top of The News

Strategic Diaspora engagement, must for robust contribution to nation-building – WTO DG, Okonjo-Iweala


WTO DG Okonjo-Iweala receives award from NiDCOM CEO, Dabiri-Erewa, right

By Anthony Maliki, Abuja

The Director-General of the World Trade Organisation, (WTO), Dr. Ngozi
Okonjo-Iweala, has urged the Nigerians in Diaspora Commission (NiDCOM),
to strengthen systematic mechanisms to attract second and third generation Nigerians in the Diaspora to contribute towards nation-building.
Dr. Okonjo-Iweala stated this during the   presentation to her  as the “Diaspora Icon” a fall out of  the recently held Maiden National Diaspora Merit Award in Abuja led by Hon. Abike Dabiri-Erewa and Management Staff of NIDCOM.
This was contained in a statement by Gabriel Odu, of NiDCOM Media, Public Relations and Protocols Unit.
The WTO DG said the Diaspora is capable of doing so much for Nigeria, which goes beyond remittances such as skills and knowledge transfer
especially as most countries of the World are fast embracing the
technology and digital era.
On her recent recognition, Okonjo-Iweala expressed her pride as a citizen of Nigeria , adding that she was elated, and humbled, for being selected to receive such an award as a “Diaspora Icon”.
The Diaspora Icon recipient commended the Commission for the work it has
been doing over the years in terms of Diaspora engagement, under the
pragmatic leadership of the NiDCOM boss.
Okonjo-Iweala expressed her support to work with the Commission and the
Federal Government of Nigeria for the betterment of all Nigerians.
While presenting the award to Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, the NiDCOM Chairman stated that the award was presented to the DG,  WTO for her selfless service to Nigeria and humanity at large.
Dabiri-Erewa remarked that she serves as an inspiration to all Nigerian
women, aiming at balancing family ties and career growth.
The Diaspora Icon Award is one of the categories given  at the National
Diaspora Day celebrations and National Diaspora Merit Award held in July
26, 2023.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.